Anticipation

It might be an age thing. “Anticipation” first reminds me of the Carole King song and then of the ketchup commercial. But I think anticipation is one of the greatest feelings human beings are privileged to enjoy. You don’t want to confuse anticipation with expectation. Expectation is the worst thing you can do to yourself. Expectation almost always involves demanding that other people behave in a certain way, but of course you have no control over how other people will ever react, with which speed, with which vehemence, etc.

Anticipation on the other hand is the feeling of butterflies zooming around in your stomach when you’re really looking forward to something, and you’re scared, and you can’t wait, and you wonder what you’ve gotten yourself into, and you have serious doubts about whether you are qualified, and you wonder whether you have any right to take up the time of this advanced group, and then your ambition gets the better of you, and you want to show what you can do, and you’re back to really, really looking forward to the chance.

In this sense I am really, really looking forward to both the Inetbib Conference in Berlin this March and to the Print On Demand Workshop in Lincoln City, Oregon this May. In each case, based on previous experiences, I know I will be surrounded by energetic yet kindly people who know so much more than I do. With any luck they will be able to teach me some of what they know. I can’t wait.

There are more and more abstracts available online for the talks at the Inetbib, but of course I haven’t been able to squirrel away the time to read them. There’s been too much to do at my library, and I keep making time-consuming promises that I later regret. But it’s a long train ride to Berlin, and I’ll be able to read them then. I hope I show up at the conference not entirely ignorant.

There is less I can do to prepare for the POD workshop in Oregon. I know pretty much nothing about producing a book for print, and have one major handicap – that I will blog about later.

About maryjorabe

librarian, science fiction fan and writer
This entry was posted in Inetbib, libraries, library conferences, Mary Jo Rabe, writers, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

