I like Pizza Hut

So far I still haven’t had time to work on my blog about the fantastic Inetbib Conference in Berlin, and various practical constraints (promises made that have to be kept) will probably delay it a few more weeks.

However, I do have time for one quick blog about how much I like Pizza Hut restaurants, especially the ones I’m acquainted with in Germany.

Living in Germany, I only really know one Pizza Hut restaurant in the U.S., the wonderful restaurant in Mesa, Arizona, in a little shopping center more or less at the intersection of Baseline Road and Gilbert Road. The staff there is incredibly friendly and helpful, and their lunch buffet is excellent. However, I also have fond memories of the Pizza Hut restaurants in Clinton, Iowa and Savanna, Illinois, my first exposure to their delicious food.

Unfortunately, there is no Pizza Hut close to where we live here in Germany. Pizza Hut in Germany, I wish you would consider opening a restaurant in Freiburg.

So, I’m reduced to searching for Pizza Hut restaurants in the cities where I attend library conferences. Fortunately, I often get lucky.

In Leipzig the magnificent Pizza Hut restaurant is conveniently located in the train station, at the level of the train platforms. For those who don’t know the Leipzig train station, it is a huge, beautiful mall that also lets trains stop there. You can literally spend hours or days wandering around in there, but you should make it to the Pizza Hut at least once a day.

I was so sad when I could no longer locate the Pizza Hut restaurant on the Kürfürstendamm in Berlin, but its more than worthy successor is located at the Potsdamer Platz. It isn’t completely easy to find in the dark if you haven’t been there before (there are many shops and restaurants at the Potsdamer Platz), but it is worth effort. I recommend searching for it in daylight so that you can find it at night.

The Pizza Hut restaurant in Karlsruhe is extraordinarily beautiful, and within walking distance of practically everything, the train station (maybe 30 minutes away, but the streetcar ride there will only take about seven minutes), the Badische Landesbibliothek (state library of the Baden section of our state of Baden-Württemberg), the magnificent university (one of my favorites – again maybe 30 minutes away by foot and seven to ten minutes by streetcar), and the administration building of the unified Protestant Church of Baden.

The smaller but equally beautiful Pizza Hut restaurant in Aachen isn’t completely easy to find if you are coming from the train station. You have to walk all the way around the cathedral (which, however, isn’t all that difficult to find) and not give up. It is so worth the effort!

The lovely Pizza Hut restaurant in Würzburg is at one edge of the downtown pedestrian zone, maybe a ten-minute walk from the train station (fifteen minutes if you are dragging a heavy suitcase). This restaurant is worth looking for.

It’s been far too long since I was at the Pizza Hut restaurant in Heidelberg, but I still have fond memories of it.

I also have fond memories of the Pizza Hut restaurant in Dresden, but I haven’t been there in a while, and according to the Pizza Hut “restaurant finder” for Germany, it is no longer there.

So, why am I so fond of Pizza Hut? Mostly, I love the food, the pizzas, the pasta (I’m especially fond of chicken with broccoli), the garlic bread toasted to perfection, and the delicious deserts, like the dinner-plate sized warm chocolate chip cookie with ice cream. I love the taste of the food. I love the huge variety to be found on the menus. I could eat there every day and find something different I liked each time. The Pizza Hut employees are amazingly and uniformly kind, friendly, helpful, and very, very pleasant. They make your stay even more enjoyable.

Again, when will there be a Pizza Hut restaurant in Freiburg? People there also deserve this wonderful food.

As a public service measure, here is where you can search for Pizza Hut restaurants in Germany:
http://www.pizzahut.de/restaurants-express/restaurantfinder/

However, I do have one minor source of discontent with respect to the Pizza Hut organization in Germany, the “Pizza Hut Express” food facilities. Basically, and in most cases, they are a mistake. I understand the theory, taking advantage of small spaces available and busy customers who truly want to grab one or two slices of pizza, wolf them down while standing, and then run on their satiated way. However, the “menu” is extraordinarily limited, and the food just doesn’t taste as good to me as the food especially prepared for me in a Pizza Hut restaurant. In the long run, I’m afraid these Pizza Hut Express establishments will ruin the excellent Pizza Hut reputation. Just sayin’ … A word to the wise … etc.

About maryjorabe

librarian, science fiction fan and writer
This entry was posted in library conferences, Pizza Hut restaurants in Germany and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

